Page Up

When I was in high school, I read a book about how birth order affects personality. According to this book, I’m highly organized. I laughed when I read that because I’m kind of messy. The book went on to explain that many first born children don’t seem organized but there is a method to their madness, meaning that even if their desks don’t look tidy, they know exactly where that particular file is. That’s me!

My computer area (both at home and at work) can look a little disorganized. At home, I tend to multitask, as well as take notes and make lists of things I want to look up later. As a former accounting nerd, I like compiling information into spreadsheets so I have one for all of my bills, another of all my DVDs, etc. Making lists is efficient in the long run. Case in point: the time that Mr. Awesome bought a DVD at Cost Co and then came home and saw we already had that movie (which is why we now have a list of all the DVDs and music we own).

Gathering all the information needed to create a spreadsheet can take up a lot of time and space. I had an accounting job in college and my desk was always covered in paper. Maybe that’s what paved the way for my paper-covered home desk. I can never seem to get rid of all the paper, no matter how hard I try. In my accounting days, I went through a few different document holders, both at work and at home. At work, I usually had an upright stand that looked like a clipboard that could stand up on its own.

At home, I had one of those swing out arms that attached to the top of the monitor. Neither was a great solution, but both were improvements over craning my neck to read tiny numbers on a piece of paper lying flat on my desk for hours at a time.

In college, I found an effective product that looks cute and also eliminates clutter: the Page-Up! Deceptively simple in design, this little piece of plastic takes up only 2 inches by 2.5 inches (and stands 1.5″ high) on my desk but holds any piece of paper upright.  Sitting in front of a computer monitor all day already puts strain on the eyes, but trying to read paper that’s lying flat on the desk doesn’t help.  Being able to read things straight on without straining my neck – how ergonomic!


One of the things I love about the Page Up is that it holds one piece of paper as easily as it holds fifteen. Some of the clipboard style document holders I used in the past could not say the same thing. The product description says it holds up to fifteen pieces of paper, but I’ve actually crammed over 20 pages at a time without any problem. Once I got past 18 pages, the paper didn’t slide all the way down to the bottom of the opening but the function was not affected. The papers still stood straight up in a nice neat stack.

The curved design allows you to insert even the thinnest paper from a magazine or catalog without the top edge bending over. I’m not sure how often you would want to rip a page out of a magazine and put it in the Page Up, but I couldn’t find anything else in my house with really thin paper!

Because of its unique design, the Page-Up can hold papers of any size both vertically or horizontally. Although I mostly use it for letter sized paper at my computer, the Page-Up can be used to hold recipes in the kitchen, sheet music, or place cards on a dining room table. It can also be used to display greeting cards, business cards, or photos. There is a slight arc (which is what holds the paper upright), so if you leave something made of thicker paper, like a business card, in the Page-Up for an extended period of time, it may cause your paper to retain a very slight curve. For most things, it’s not an issue but just an FYI before you pop in the only copy of your great-great-great grandparents’ wedding picture.

The Page-Up weighs only 2.5 ounces but it can still be used as a light paperweight, It will definitely hold down papers but isn’t as hefty as a fancy brass paperweight. It has small rubber feet that keep it from sliding around on a slippery desk or a pile of papers.

Many office supplies provide function but are sorely lacking in form. The Page Up has both! It gets the job done holding my papers and has sleek lines, but is also small enough to be unobtrusive. Best of all, it comes lots of fun colors and designs. They used to have colors that matched the iMacs, but the latest version of this line is called crystal colors. This line has tiny glass beads inside colored translucent plastic:

The aquarium line has different marine scenes floating inside the Page-Up:

The culinary line is now retired, but each one had a different food inside (corn, green beans, mustard seeds, pink lentil, red beans, or rice):

The sandy line has brightly colored sand inside clear plastic:

The zoo line has different animal print designs:

The sports collection looks like different balls:

They also come in metallic colors:

And if you’re not into the shiny colorful stuff, there is the classic line:

In other words, there is a color or style for everyone, whether you like shiny gold, something that reminds you of your school old iMac, or you want a fun animal print. Often with office supplies, function wins over form (and understandably so) but with Page Up, you can have both. I admit that I can be a girlie girl about stuff like this so given the choice between buying a plain black one or a bright fun color, I chose the most obnoxious colors I could find!

There are also mini Page-Ups called babies. They are about half the size of the regular Page Ups products (approximately 1″ x 1.25″ and 3/4″ tall). The babies are great for smaller pieces of paper, so they can be used to hold place cards, photos, shopping lists, directions, etc. The regular sized Page Up can handle all of these things too, but if you’re tight on space or don’t need something quite as heavy as the regular page up, the babies are great! The regular weighs 77 grams (2.75 ounces) while the baby weighs 7 grams (0.25 ounces).

I did a side by side comparison so that you can see the difference. Since the regular page up is taller, it covers a lot more of the bottom of the document, which is not a big deal if you’re reading a document and transcribing it, since most documents have a 1″ margin. If you are using something smaller in the Page Up, like a business card, the baby will allow you to see more of the document. In this case, I used business cards but the same thing goes for photos and other things you might use in the Page Up.

In the next picture, I moved the Fifi Mahony card from the baby to the regular so that you can see how much more of the card is visible when it’s used in the baby.

My only minor quibble about the Page Up is that because it’s so small, it can be a bit difficult to move it once you have paper in it. If I just need to scoot it over an inch or so, I push the base with my finger, which works. But if you decide you need to move it more than that, it’s hard to get your hand around it with papers inside so I recommend just pulling the paper out, moving the base, and then reinserting the paper. It’s not a huge deal, but if you’re paranoid about paper cuts as I am, it’s something to be aware of.

I didn’t know how much I needed the Page Up until I had one, which is a roundabout way of saying that I lived without one for a long time and found ways around the problem of needing one (the lame stands sold at office supply stores, trying to prop paper up against my desk, using a binder clip to attach a piece of paper to the front of my binder and then leaning it against something). Now that I have one, I can’t imagine not having one.  I honestly don’t use it every single day, but on the occasions that I do use it, I LOVE it.

The regular Page Up retails for about $7 and a four pack of the babies costs about $8. The babies are also available in packs of six or twelve.  Both the regular Page Up and the babies can be found at the Container Store, as well as at office supply stores. I’ve also seen them at the UPS Store. I’ve found them for less online but the trade off is paying the shipping costs.  On the plus side, buying them online usually you gives you more color choices.

Leave a Reply

