INCONCEIVABLE aka “I do not think it means what you think it means!”

inigamontoya

Originally, this blog was intended to be about Really Awesome Things, but today is the first installment of Things That Are NOT Awesome.  There are lots of awesome things I love, but that are also some un-awesome things that I just feel like complaining about.

In the last two weeks, I have heard and read several words being used incorrectly, so let me take the time to remind the English speaking world what these words really mean.


a cappella – without instrumental accompaniment
After Michael Jackson’s death, there was a surge of old Jackson 5 songs on youtube. Several of them were incorrectly described as a cappella. A stripped down version of a song (a la MTV’s Unplugged) is NOT a cappella. If instruments are used, it is not a cappella.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uzjdiDasLkk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TSBIAGCulDw

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=az1592YE8Nk

acoustic – a performance using acoustic instruments (such as an acoustic guitar, as opposed to an electric guitar)
John Mayer’s performance of “Human Nature” at Michael Jackson’s memorial service was described by several sources as acoustic, but he used some kind of electric guitar, NOT an acoustic guitar. I think that people meant to say that it was a primarily instrumental performance (one of the background singers briefly sang the chorus), but instrumental is not the same as acoustic.
http://www.examiner.com/x-1827-Philadelphia-Entertainment-Examiner~y2009m7d13-John-Mayer-works-his-magic-again
http://showhype.com/story/john_mayer_discusses_michael_jackson_memorial/

syllable – a portion of a word
There are three syllables in the word syllable: syl-la-ble. On last week’s episode of So You Think You Can Dance, Tabitha and Napoleon said that they had choreographed a dance to the Beyonce song “Halo” and that there was a move for every syllable. That is pretty common for songs with lyrics because it allows the dancers to move with the words. Watching the dance, however, revealed that Taboleon (or Nappy Tabs, if you prefer their self-chosen pairing portmanteau) does not know what a syllable really is. They choreographed to the beat of the song, but not to the syllables of the lyrics.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YmWYPpsM2ow

5 responses to “INCONCEIVABLE aka “I do not think it means what you think it means!”

  1. THANK YOU! I have known for a while that you and I share a propensity for correct grammar, punctuation, and word usage, but it still makes me happy to be reminded that there are others out there who think about these things.

  2. And I just realized that even that second sentence came out wrong. It should have read “…it still makes me happy to be reminded that there are others out there who, LIKE ME, think about these things.”

    • reallyawesomestuff

      Ha, isn’t that always the way? Just when you’re making a comment about grammar, you forget a word or type something incorrectly?

      Propensity used to be one of my favorite words, by the way. I loved pairing it with propinquity whenever possible too!

  3. I discovered this blog when I was researching FUDs and ended up reading all of your reviews. You are a breath of fresh air. Thank you.

    • reallyawesomestuff

      Thanks, Stacia! I started writing these reviews because I wanted to tell people about stuff that I love. Fast forward to 2017 where too many people start blogs with the sole purpose of getting paid to review free stuff! I find it really frustrating when alleged blog reviews consist of people copying and pasting the item description and then saying, “I liked it!” I need details, people! I’m glad you found my reviews useful. I need to get off my ass and review some new stuff!

Leave a Reply

