Peanut Butter and Co.

My mom always kept our peanut butter in the pantry, not the refrigerator, and as a result, I prefer warm/room temperature peanut butter.  It just seems too cold if it’s been in the refrigerator, and it’s harder to spread. There’s nothing like ripping a hole in a piece of bread when you’re just trying to make a peanut butter sandwich.  Those are the main reasons that have been holding me back from switching over and holding onto my old school Jif and Skippy peanut butters.  A friend of mine loves natural peanut butter, but I get grossed out by having to stir it together. And that’s on top of having to keep it refrigerated!

Enter Peanut Butter & Co!  Their peanut butter is not full of hydrogenated oils or other icky stuff AND it doesn’t separate.  Like at all.  It stays creamy and smooth without any layer of oil floating on top, and it spreads easily.

pb

I learned about this company from reading Evan’s blog, Food Makes Fun Fuel, because he looooooves White Chocolate Wonderful and Mighty Maple. Peanut Butter and Co sells their products online at their adorably named website www.ilovepeanutbutter.com, but at $6 per jar plus $9.69 for ground shipping for just one jar ($10.40 for two jars), I decided that was a little too much for me to try some peanut butter. Luckily, the store locator said that a few grocery stores near my house sell their products too. I’ve been burned by that a few times, scouring a store that is supposed to sell a specific product, only to find that particular location no longer carries whatever I’m looking for, but I decided to stop by and look anyway.

It must have been my lucky day because they had several flavors in stock AND they were all on sale for $3.99 each! I decided to try White Chocolate Wonderful (thanks to Evan singing its praises and slathering it on every kind of carb known to man), Dark Chocolate, and the Bee’s Knees (with honey). Sadly, no Mighty Maple but I am willing to be persistent and check out some of the other local grocery stores that are supposed to carry this brand too.

White Chocolate Wonderful is really wonderful, like the name says. Eaten straight out of the jar, it has a mild sweetness that gives the peanut butter an interesting depth. But once I put it on bread, the difference between this and regular run of the mill peanut butter became much more apparent. I don’t get a straight, one note white chocolate flavor. Rather, the sweetness of the white chocolate really softens the overall taste of the peanut butter and adds a nice contrast to the salty and savory flavor of regular peanut butter. I can’t wait to try this on apples, in marinades, and anything else I can slather this stuff on!

I’ve been making myself eat a slice of Ezekiel 4:9 bread each night as a healthy snack, and I’m not crazy about the bread itself so I smear on some PB & Co. and suddenly I don’t mind eating this healthy bread anymore because all I can taste is the sweet, creamy peanut butter!

This is one of the shortest reviews of written so far, but I will update once I’ve tried the other flavors!

11/13/09 – Update!  I didn’t want to seem like a glutton by opening three brand new jars of peanut butter all at once, so I have tried to pace myself a little bit.  Even so, I couldn’t wait to try the other two flavors!

The Bee’s Knees has a slight honey taste to it, but there isn’t a whole lot of peanut flavor in this peanut butter.  The honey flavor isn’t strong either, so I will probably stick with White Chocolate Wonderful for flavored peanut butter.  The pros: visible flecks of honey in the peanut butter and a very smooth, spreadable texture.  It’s much softer than WCW, which is a big plus for me.  When I use WCW, I microwave the bread for about 30 seconds beforehand, which helps the WCW melt nicely.  With the Bee’s Knees, the extra warmth isn’t necessary.  It glides on beautifully!

I have mixed feelings about Dark Chocolate.  Honestly, there is no discernible peanut butter flavor.   But can I really complain when in its place is delicious chocolate?  I used to love Nutella, but this suits my chocolate craving even better.  My minor quibble is that it’s all chocolate, without any peanut butter flavor at all.  I love the combination of peanut butter and chocolate, so it’s a little bit disappointing that I don’t get that combo with this product, but again I point out: CHOCOLATE!  This is even softer and more spreadable than the Bee’s Knees, which is awesome.  I tried them separately and then tried layering them on top of each other.  YUM!

I still haven’t been able to find Mighty Maple at any of my local grocery stores and I can’t justify spending $16 to buy one jar online, but I will continue to hunt for it.  In the mean time, I have three tasty flavors to keep my busy!

3 responses to “Peanut Butter and Co.

  1. I haven’t tried any of the other flavors, but I LOOOOOOVE the Cinnamon Raisin Swirl! I was specifically looking for cinnamon-flavored peanut butter, and I happened to find this brand at a regular supermarket. It was soooooooooo good! The only thing that grossed me out a little was that the raisins reminded me of tiny bugs, but maybe that’s just me and my overly active imagination. Ahem. I agree with you, this peanut butter is yummy!

  2. This MAY have just changed my life. I also hate cold peanut butter (and the stirring of it) but I really do like the taste of the natural stuff better. Am seeking this out immediately. Will blame you if I suddenly gain 20 pounds.

  3. reallyawesomestuff

    I have found Peanut Butter and Co. at several Andronico’s locations, and they usually have the regular peanut butter flavor along with the three I tried and Cinnamon Raisin Swirl.

    Whole Foods, Mollie Stones, and Bristol Farms (at the SF Centre) are supposed to carry this brand too. Good luck finding some!

    If you can’t find any on your side of the bridge, let me know. I’m happy to send them to you so that you don’t have to buy them online at such an obscene price!

Leave a Reply

